Mobile logo



Upcoming Releases

Göteborg Baroque
Spring 2014

Henk Badings: Maria

Out of stock: 
Mikaeli Chamber Choir
Released in August 2003
149 SEK

Unique recording of seldom-heard Dutchman!
Footprint Records proudly presents one of Stockholm’s – and Sweden’s – most prominent choirs on this new CD: the Mikaeli Chamber Choir, conducted by Anders Eby. The choir was founded by Anders Eby in 1972 and has since then become one of the leading choirs in Stockholm. Anders Eby is the professor of choral conducting and choral singing at the Royal College of Music in Stockholm.

We are equally proud to present a CD containing a composition that rarely – if ever – has been heard on CD: The work Maria by the Dutch composer Henk Badings. This “Maira cyclus” is a 14 piece composition, based on texts about Virgin Mary, originating from different writers, such as Weber, Oelerich, O zur Linde and Rilke. It is written for soloists, choir, flute and violoncello.

The Mikaeli Chamber Choir

Anders Eby - Conductor
Jenny Ohlson - Soprano
Ulrika Mjörndal - Soprano
Maria Sanner - Alto
Carl Unander-Scharin - Tenor
Sara Lindloff - Flute
Åsa Åkerberg - Cello

The Press
”The Dutch composer Henk Badings has left us with at least one indisputable master-piece, fully comparable to the best of Martin or Britten. This is his ‘Maria’, 14 poetic stills ... His votive gift is lovingly cherished by the Mikaeli Chamber Choir.”
(Carl-Gunnar Åhlén, Svenska Dagbladet, Sweden)

Complete contents:

1. Anrufung [2:27]
(R Paulsen)

2. Sei gegrüsst [3:53]
(F W Weber)

3. Des Herren Magd [2:23]
(A Oelerich) Solo: U Mjörndal

4. Mit dem Blumenstrauss [2:51]
(O zur Linde) Solo: J Ohlson, U Mjörndal

5. Ich sehe dich [2:52]
(Novalis) Solo: C Unander-Scharin

6. Marienlied [2:43]
(A Oelerich) Solo: J Ohlson

7. Advent [1:59]
(H Althaus)

8. Der Stern [2:25]
(H F Christians)

9. Wiegenlied [2:29]
(A Oelerich) Solo: J Ohlson

10. Auf der Flucht [4:37]
(H Rothardt) Solo: J Ohlson, M Sanner, H Ekenäs

11. Vor der Passion [1:11]
(R M Rilke) Solo: M Sanner

12. Pieta [2:19]
(R M Rilke) Solo: M Sanner

13. Mariä Himmelsfahrt [3:39]
(M von Schenkensdorf) Solo: J Ohlson

14. O schmerzensreiche Mutter [4:25]
(A Lorentz)

Music composed by Henk Badings
Total time: 40:03